Rescue Animals

All about your pets. Bring kibble. And bits.
just popping in
Lord of the Board

Rescue Animals

Post by just popping in »

I know Canada needs help adopting rescued animals but is it this bad? I hope not.

http://www.castanet.net/news/BC/151416/ ... d#comments
Bsuds
The Wagon Master

Re: Rescue Animals

Post by Bsuds »

Canada is helping as those dogs are from California and yes it is bad there.
So I saw a bumper sticker today that said, I'm a Veterinarian so I drive like an animal.
I suddenly realised how many Proctologists are on the road!
janalta
Übergod

Post by janalta »

Unfortunately, there are a lot of very overwhelmed shelters in the US, and yes, a large majority of their animals end up being euthanized.
It is especially bad for large breeds and 'bully' breeds.
Wise enough to know better.
Old enough to care less.
Bunnyhop
Generalissimo Postalot

Post by Bunnyhop »

I do not agree with the mass (commercial) importing of dogs. They are rarely vetted adequately and there is no support available for the adoptive families. So if the dog is not a good fit for the family, it ends up on the doorstep of local rescues/shelters who are already overburdened.

Logistically, the US has what, 10/50/100? Times the population of Canada and WE are taking THEIR dogs? They must be laughing their *bleep* off at us.
Farmmaa
Grand Pooh-bah

Post by Farmmaa »

Bunnyhop wrote:I do not agree with the mass (commercial) importing of dogs. They are rarely vetted adequately and there is no support available for the adoptive families. So if the dog is not a good fit for the family, it ends up on the doorstep of local rescues/shelters who are already overburdened.

Logistically, the US has what, 10/50/100? Times the population of Canada and WE are taking THEIR dogs? They must be laughing their *bleep* off at us.

The mass commercial importation of rescue dogs ?
This is about a local trainer who is bringing up 10-12 dogs from a shelter in California.