Surprise, surprise, Film Industry Didn't Get Duped

Glacier
The Pilgrim

Surprise, surprise, Film Industry Didn't Get Duped

Post by Glacier »

So I see this article, and wouldn't you know it, but the guy couldn't seduce Hollywood with his overpriced Okanagan wine that the Okanagan needs more films. Newsflash: the Okanagan isn't really all that special. It's the same terrain you see all over the northwest US, only traffic is worse and things are more expensive.
"No one has the right to apologize for something they did not do, and no one has the right to accept an apology if the wrong was not done to them."
- Douglas Murray
Tardigrade

Okanagan Studios Bust... not surprising

Post by Tardigrade »

I have been shaking my head about Okanagan Studios since they opened in 2016. It was obvious at first glance to anyone who had ever been on a film or video set that each of the two stages are ridiculous: Each one has SIX support posts! I've never seen anything like that outside of a backwoods community college media studio. What the heck are you going to shoot on a stage with six posts, nothing but closeups I guess. So now the failure of this absurd amateurish excuse for a studio has marked the Okanagan as not being able to support a studio, while if it had been a properly designed layout it would have been burgeoning with work. The sheer incompetence boggles the mind...
Drip_Torch
Guru

Re: Surprise, surprise, Film Industry Didn't Get Duped

Post by Drip_Torch »

Glacier wrote:So I see this article,...

That's awfully generous of you to call that an article. All I could glean is the building is for sale, and that's not entirely uncommon. I believe real estate sales, government administration and some creative tax credit accounting for off-shore gaming development was the sum total of the BC film industry for most of 2011.