Windows 8

Computer questions/solutions, technology news, science topics.
peachlandnotary

Windows 8

Post by peachlandnotary »

Windows 8 is slowly turning me insane. Can anyone provide me with some insight as to why Microsoft had to go and mess with a good thing? Every time I drag my mouse across the screen the charms bar comes up and I have done everything I can to disable it!

:hangman:
Bsuds
The Wagon Master

Re: Windows 8

Post by Bsuds »

My charms bar only pops up when the mouse is in the top or bottom right corners.
If yours is coming up when you just move the mouse? If so could it be a mouse driver setting/problem. Do you have the latest drivers from the manufacturer.
I have 2 computers running win 8 and do not have a problem.
So I saw a bumper sticker today that said, I'm a Veterinarian so I drive like an animal.
I suddenly realised how many Proctologists are on the road!
peachlandnotary

I am just using the mouse on my laptop. Should I get a separate mouse? (to be fair it's not "every time I move my mouse" but it's often enough to make me want to throw my laptop out the window). It's a brand new laptop so I can't see it having problems already!
Can I downgrade to windows 7?
Bsuds
The Wagon Master

Post by Bsuds »

peachlandnotary wrote:Can I downgrade to windows 7?

That is not recommended by some of the manufacturers and in some cases may not even be possible.

I would definitely get a proper mouse as it will make it a much better experience. If you use it in many different places a "Bluetrack" mouse will work on almost any surface. Also get a wireless one with the mini USB dongle, then it's not in the way.

Like this one for example.

http://www.bestbuy.ca/en-CA/product/mic ... 8e915ben02
So I saw a bumper sticker today that said, I'm a Veterinarian so I drive like an animal.
peachlandnotary

thanks for the tips!!!
Bsuds
The Wagon Master

Post by Bsuds »