Website design class?

Computer questions/solutions, technology news, science topics.
cori

Website design class?

Post by cori »

What are the possibilities to learn website design in Kelowna?

How long does it take?

What is the cost?

Thanks in advance
zensiert
Board Meister

Re: Web site design class?

Post by zensiert »

Oh god, don't waste your money. Learn on your own. CATO is great if you want to blow 10G's on getting a piece of sheepskin that isn't really recognized anywhere, but OC is better for recognition wrt their overall computer science degree (which will teach you how to run a proper web server, btw). But web dev is pretty well stupid-easy to learn on your own. Google is your friend.

Edit: Any company who wants to hire a web dev does so on the strength of their portfolio, not on their formal education. So much in web dev is self-taught that it would exclude 90+% of developers if employers went after "formal education" before practical experience. Fire up a linux box, install a LAMP stack, learn how to secure it and start hacking away at personal sites on a domain name or two (they don't cost much... about $15/yr at GoDaddy). Once you have gotten some experience under your belt, make sure you build yourself a portfolio of your experiments. That will do more to get you into the industry than anything else you can do. Source: one of my best friends on this forum is a web dev.
I am insane, with long intervals of horrible sanity.
HoboJo
Grand Pooh-bah

Post by HoboJo »

Websites are ubiquitous.

HTML is simply a way to mark some letters larger than others. And connect things.

While learning all that pick up some database skills.

As has been mentioned... knowledge is free :-)
36Drew
Grand Pooh-bah

Post by 36Drew »

Are you aiming to learn as a hobby or as a marketable skill from which to earn a living?
I'd like to change your mind, but I don't have a fresh diaper.
cori

Post by cori »

Thank you for all your answers.