47304

Need an ethernet hub

Computer questions/solutions, technology news, science topics.

Need an ethernet hub

Postby pmaria » Jun 13th, 2017, 11:17 am

I know this should probably be in a Wanted/For sale forum, but I need this to reach the people who would know what I'm talking about.

I need to beg, borrow, steal or buy an ethernet hub. Not a switch, just an plain old 4 or 5 port hub. I've been tasked with trying to troubleshoot a network device so I need to be able to capture packets from it while it communicates with the internet, but cant do that with a switch. Only a hub that broadcasts packets to all ports will work, or a configurable switch - and my switch / router is dumb. I know its possible to do a "man in the middle" capture on a switch but this isn't ideal for my application.

If you've got one collecting dust in your closet, and are willing to part with it, I'd be happy to take it off your hands for a fair price. It must work though, and have a power supply.
User avatar
pmaria
 
Posts: 58
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 18 posts
Joined: May 27th, 2013, 7:21 pm

Re: Need an ethernet hub

Postby TylerM4 » Jun 13th, 2017, 8:35 pm

Sorry, I trashed mine long ago.

FYI - a better quality switch will allow you to do this via software. "Port Mirroring" I believe it's called. Or If it's a PC you are troubleshooting you can install a utility like wireshark.
TylerM4
√úbergod
 
Posts: 1089
Likes: 265 posts
Liked in: 791 posts
Joined: Feb 27th, 2014, 3:22 pm

Re: Need an ethernet hub

Postby pmaria » Jun 14th, 2017, 8:43 am

Unfortunately its not a PC so I can't install software on it. I thought of a smart / managed switch and may just go down that route. I didn't realize that some were relatively inexpensive, < $50 so thats not too bad. Plus I tend to deal with a lot of these types of devices so it may beneficial in the future.

TylerM4 likes this post.
User avatar
pmaria
 
Posts: 58
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 18 posts
Joined: May 27th, 2013, 7:21 pm

Re: Need an ethernet hub

Postby 36Drew » Jun 15th, 2017, 3:37 pm

pmaria wrote:I've been tasked with trying to troubleshoot a network device so I need to be able to capture packets from it while it communicates with the internet, but cant do that with a switch.


Sure you can. Port mirroring. Use a dedicated NIC plugged into the mirror port for your packet capturing.
I'd like to change your mind, but I don't have a fresh diaper.
36Drew
Grand Pooh-bah
 
Posts: 2331
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 446 posts
Joined: Mar 29th, 2009, 2:32 pm
Location: Coquitlam

Re: Need an ethernet hub

Postby pmaria » Jun 15th, 2017, 4:19 pm

Only if the switch support port mirroring. I've got one on order now.
User avatar
pmaria
 
Posts: 58
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 18 posts
Joined: May 27th, 2013, 7:21 pm

Re: Need an ethernet hub

Postby forum » Jun 20th, 2017, 9:02 pm

Why are you doing this?
User avatar
forum
Lord of the Board
 
Posts: 4937
Likes: 816 posts
Liked in: 1095 posts
Joined: May 10th, 2011, 8:08 pm

Re: Need an ethernet hub

Postby 36Drew » Jun 21st, 2017, 7:03 am

forum wrote:Why are you doing this?


Packetsniffing for fun and profit?
I'd like to change your mind, but I don't have a fresh diaper.
36Drew
Grand Pooh-bah
 
Posts: 2331
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 446 posts
Joined: Mar 29th, 2009, 2:32 pm
Location: Coquitlam

Re: Need an ethernet hub

Postby neilsimon » Jun 21st, 2017, 8:38 am

OpenWRT on a router sitting between the device and the Internet. It's fairly simple to find an OpenWRT capable router these days.
User avatar
neilsimon
Generalissimo Postalot
 
Posts: 852
Likes: 434 posts
Liked in: 766 posts
Joined: Aug 13th, 2015, 6:35 am

Re: Need an ethernet hub

Postby pmaria » Jun 22nd, 2017, 9:47 am

forum wrote:Why are you doing this?

Its part of my job. I work with companies to implement data systems for asset control, *bleep* and payment systems. I have one device here for scanning barcodes that the manufacturer is not being very helpful with, so I've taken it on myself to determine why its not working. After all that, now that I can examine the packets, it took me less than 10 minutes to figure out it was a communication configuration issue.
36Drew wrote:Packetsniffing for fun and profit?

Yes, I realize it does sound a little shady, but that's actually what it is for. It is fun, and I get paid to do it, so profit.
neilsimon wrote:OpenWRT on a router sitting between the device and the Internet. It's fairly simple to find an OpenWRT capable router these days.

Never thought of that, I've forgotten about OpenWRT, but used to use it on all my routers back in the day. Long live the WRT54G!

neilsimon likes this post.
User avatar
pmaria
 
Posts: 58
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 18 posts
Joined: May 27th, 2013, 7:21 pm

Re: Need an ethernet hub

Postby 36Drew » Jun 22nd, 2017, 3:18 pm

pmaria wrote:
36Drew wrote:Packetsniffing for fun and profit?

Yes, I realize it does sound a little shady, but that's actually what it is for. It is fun, and I get paid to do it, so profit.


I wasn't suggesting it sounds shady. I wasn't really asking a question, either. I know exactly what you're up to.

/me was working a bug-bounty on a CANBUS system for an unnamed electric car manufacturer some months back as a side project...
I'd like to change your mind, but I don't have a fresh diaper.

neilsimon likes this post.
36Drew
Grand Pooh-bah
 
Posts: 2331
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 446 posts
Joined: Mar 29th, 2009, 2:32 pm
Location: Coquitlam

Re: Need an ethernet hub

Postby pmaria » Jun 22nd, 2017, 4:13 pm

36Drew wrote:
I wasn't suggesting it sounds shady. I wasn't really asking a question, either. I know exactly what you're up to.

/me was working a bug-bounty on a CANBUS system for an unnamed electric car manufacturer some months back as a side project...


Perhaps the nefarious thought came from the original query by forum. Some random guy comes on and needs help sniffing packets, I'd be wondering why too.

CANBUS systems sound way more interesting than the *bleep* stuff I do.
User avatar
pmaria
 
Posts: 58
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 18 posts
Joined: May 27th, 2013, 7:21 pm

Re: Need an ethernet hub

Postby pmaria » Jun 22nd, 2017, 4:14 pm

Interesting, the board appears to censor the Point Of Sale acronym: P Oh S
User avatar
pmaria
 
Posts: 58
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 18 posts
Joined: May 27th, 2013, 7:21 pm

Re: Need an ethernet hub

Postby fvkasm2x » Jun 22nd, 2017, 8:16 pm

pmaria wrote:Interesting, the board appears to censor the Point Of Sale acronym: P Oh S


Piece of shi. is more often used with that acronym :-)
User avatar
fvkasm2x
Guru
 
Posts: 6527
Likes: 243 posts
Liked in: 982 posts
Joined: Apr 1st, 2007, 2:06 pm
Location: Edmonton, AB

Re: Need an ethernet hub

Postby 36Drew » Jun 23rd, 2017, 12:00 am

pmaria wrote:Interesting, the board appears to censor the Point Of Sale acronym: P Oh S


If you're interested in giving it a go - join up with https://www.bugcrowd.com/bug-bounty-list/. There's all types of bounties on there.

To tie all this into context with a different thread...
http://forums.castanet.net/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=73100#p2198433

That's what bug bounty programs are for. Plebs don't necessarily get it and think companies have been hacked.

The OpenWRT idea is a good one, btw. Princess Auto was selling some Cisco/Linksys Valet units for fairly cheap. They're Cisco m10 and can take an OpenWRT flash straight from the stock firmware upgrade screen. I think I even have a couple around that are unused - if you really really want one and just can't be motivated to acquire and flash it yourself, then PM me a shipping address and I'll ship you one of my unused units gratis.
I'd like to change your mind, but I don't have a fresh diaper.
36Drew
Grand Pooh-bah
 
Posts: 2331
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 446 posts
Joined: Mar 29th, 2009, 2:32 pm
Location: Coquitlam


Return to Computers, Science, Technology

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests