Question(s) about moving back to Kelowna

6StringSG

Question(s) about moving back to Kelowna

Post by 6StringSG »

Hello. Thanks for taking the time to read this.

I moved to Kelowna last August from Toronto on a whim, in search of a lifestyle change etc. I fell in love with the area instantly, but did run into some problems (mostly lack of stable work after Labour Day), which eventually led to my return back East 6 months later.

I work in the hospitality industry. I'm a cook with my Red Seal, and have over 20 years of experience. I'm 40, with no kids, or family. I've again prepared myself financially with about a years salary in savings, so if I need to tough it out for a while, that's ok. When I was out there before, there were hardly any jobs available after Labour Day. I've been following the classifieds everyday since I've been back and have noticed MANY more jobs begin to get advertised around February and March. Would I stand a better chance or have better luck in securing full time year round work if I arrived after the new year when I see these jobs listed, and are most of them going to end up being seasonal until the summer is over. I am fully aware that I will be taking a pay cut most likely than what I am accustomed to here, and that is ok with me. I really miss it out there and would like to give it another go. Thanks for your time.
Barney Google
Lord of the Board

Re: Question(s) about moving back to Kelowna

Post by Barney Google »

Experienced and dedicated kitchen staff are sometimes hard to find...one of Kelowna's newest HOT SPOTS is hiring...

The Curious Artistry & Alchemy Café

Good Luck...the kitchen team and Chef Braun are incredible!
“Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in his shoes. That way if he gets angry, he'll be a mile away and barefoot. ”
- Unknown
buteman
Fledgling

Post by buteman »