Inquiries on Car selection and Car insurance

assa8945

Inquiries on Car selection and Car insurance

Post by assa8945 »

I am an international student who wants to buy a car.
My friends told me that having a 4WD car is important ?
However, i think that 4WD car costs more and consumes more fuel comparatively.

Therefore, I wonder is it neccessary to buy a 4WD car if i study in UBCO in Kelowna?

My second question would be how is the Car Insurance caculated.
I was so shocked after i heard the expense on Car Insurance which may be even higher than the lease.
Does the cost of car insurance depend on the car brand or the price of the car or something else?
Can you tell me the roughly cost every year for an international student?
Liquidnails
Generalissimo Postalot

Re: Inquiries on Car selection and Car insurance

Post by Liquidnails »

4WD is not necessary if you are studying at UBCO. Any front wheel drive car with good winter tires will be all you need.

Car insurance price depends on the value, age, and style of your car, the amount of coverage you purchase, as well as your age and driving experience. ICBC does not recognise any driving history from your home country, so you will likely not receive any discount for safe driving. I would guess that you would pay probably at least $2000/yr to insure a car less than 10 years old as an international student. Any car designated as a sports car will cost more than a family sedan or compact. Vehicles types that are commonly stolen will also cost more to insure.

For the most accurate information, I recommend you have a look at ICBC's FAQ section (http://www.icbc.com/FAQ/Pages/New-to-or ... ng-BC.aspx) or give a local insurance broker a call. (http://www.icbc.com/locators/Pages/defa ... on=kelowna)

Good luck!
Bleach
Fledgling

Post by Bleach »