Icy roads and 4WD

Bunnyhop
Generalissimo Postalot

Icy roads and 4WD

Post by Bunnyhop »

I have never driven a 4WD vehicle and admittedly know nothing about how it works. I thought though (and could be wrong about this), that engaging all 4 wheels gave the vehicle better traction in snow? This young girl put her vehicle into 4WD on a bare and icy road - should that have helped with traction? http://www.castanet.net/news/Penticton/ ... -in-Oliver
Bsuds
The Wagon Master

Re: Icy roads and 4WD

Post by Bsuds »

It helps you go but no help stopping or steering. The change while moving may have caused her to lose traction and slide into the oncoming traffic.
I would say inexperienced driver error caused this one.
So I saw a bumper sticker today that said, I'm a Veterinarian so I drive like an animal.
I suddenly realised how many Proctologists are on the road!
my5cents
Guru

Post by my5cents »

When I operate a four wheeled drive vehicle I don't like having it in four wheel drive on "possibly slippery roads". Once I'm in the heavy stuff and need the traction to make it through, I do. The reason is that when in four wheel drive you can GO very well, you don't slip near as much when accelerating, giving you a false sense of how much traction you have. It's when you reach a curve or apply the brakes you then find out how slippery it really is and you are in trouble that four wheel drive won't get you out of.

Ask any ICBC estimator about the percentage of four wheel drive vehicles that are wrecked in snowy weather.
"The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who haven't got it"
Bsuds
The Wagon Master

Post by Bsuds »

my5cents wrote:
Ask any ICBC estimator about the percentage of four wheel drive vehicles that are wrecked in snowy weather.

Just drive the Coke on a snowy day and see them in the ditch.
So I saw a bumper sticker today that said, I'm a Veterinarian so I drive like an animal.