Staff cuts in Summerland

Anonymous123
Lord of the Board

Staff cuts in Summerland

Post by Anonymous123 »

http://www.castanet.net/edition/news-story-106473-21-.htm#106473

Four jobs cut with a savings of $500,000.00 per year. That's an average of $125,000.00 each. It's no wonder taxes keep going up.
Be careful when you follow the masses.
Sometimes the M is silent
XT225
Lord of the Board

Re: Staff cuts in Summerland

Post by XT225 »

The Herald quotes 7 jobs...that's considerably different than your figures. Perhaps its to pay for that fancy new police station. http://www.pentictonherald.ca/front-pag ... -jobs.html
Bsuds
The Wagon Master

Post by Bsuds »

I counted 8 in the Castanet story
So I saw a bumper sticker today that said, I'm a Veterinarian so I drive like an animal.
I suddenly realised how many Proctologists are on the road!
XT225
Lord of the Board

Post by XT225 »

Bsuds wrote:I counted 8 in the Castanet story

You're correct; it did say 8. That's an average of $62,500 if you want to use the averaging that the original poster used, though it wont be accurate at all as some were lower paid positions, some management ones. Regardless its not good news.
grammafreddy
Chief Sh*t Disturber

Post by grammafreddy »

And some of those 8 moved to other positions so they don't count.
__________________________________________________________________________________________
We are a generation of idiots - smart phones and dumb people.

You cannot multiply wealth by dividing it.
Bsuds
The Wagon Master

Post by Bsuds »

It's not fun to lose your job at any time.
So I saw a bumper sticker today that said, I'm a Veterinarian so I drive like an animal.
oneh2obabe
feistres Goruchaf y Bwrdd

Post by oneh2obabe »

The information systems coordinator will move to a new position - that still leaves 3 positions that won't be replaced plus the 4 people who will be laid off.
Dance as if no one's watching, sing as if no one's listening, and live everyday as if it were your last.