Ambulances getting speeding tickets

Amarow121
Generalissimo Postalot

Ambulances getting speeding tickets

Post by Amarow121 »

http://www.cbc.ca/canada/edmonton/story/2010/12/24/edmonton-ambulance-ahs-speed-limits-memo.html

As a paramedic who both sits in the passenger seat and also drives, I am baffled by this announcement.
However, being that I am a paramedic, perhaps I am biased.

What are your (the public) experiences with ambulances driving with lights and sirens? Are the drivers of ambulances irresponsible? Are potential (but avoided) collisions due to our driving or due to the inattentiveness of other drivers sharing the road? Are ambulances different from Fire or Police in how they drive when responding to emergencies?
What have you folks noticed as drivers, pedestrians, cyclists, skateboarders, rollerskaters, dog walkers and hitchhikers?
kompili
Walks on Forum Water

Re: Ambulances getting speeding tickets

Post by kompili »

I have been driving for many years and I have not once had to complain about any ambulance. First off no one knows where they are going, and for what reason, most time I am guessing it is for a life and death situation. What I can see is that they do a heck of a job to get through all that traffic without hitting something. I think giving them speeding tickets is ridiculous under the circumstances.
Last edited by kompili on Dec 29th, 2010, 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
We Have Been Conditioned To See Only What They Want Us To See.
WhatThe

Post by WhatThe »

Dumb dumb dumb. How is that gonna work, cop gonna write a ticket while the EMS is responding ? Or after?
Who thinks up this crap?
If I'm waiting for an ambulance I expect it to get there quick not dilly dally. The golden hour should prevail over all other considerations. Within reason of course.
grumpydigger
Lord of the Board

Post by grumpydigger »