Thursday, April 17th7.0°C
17283
20654

Telus internet in Shannon Lake area?

West Kelowna and Peachland topics.

Moderators: Jo, ferri, Merry, Triple 6

Telus internet in Shannon Lake area?

Postby Fleshfailures » Feb 14th, 2013, 12:24 am

Just wondering if anyone in the Shannon Lake area uses Telus internet, and if so, do you find it to work well? Currently we use another provider, but sometimes our internet is just too slow, and we've already "upgraded" twice. We're thinking of switching to Telus, but wanted to hear what other people in our area think about it before we make any decisions. So, if you have Telus, do you think your internet speed is up to par? Do you do any online gaming or use Netflix? Do multiple people in your house use the internet at the same time? Thanks for your help!
User avatar
Fleshfailures
Board Meister
 
Posts: 423
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Oct 8th, 2005, 9:48 pm
Location: Westside

Re: Telus internet in Shannon Lake area?

Postby Omnitheo » Feb 14th, 2013, 2:44 am

What is your current internet provider and how do you think the service is slow? Are you connecting wirelessly? Changing providers will not necessarily resolve a problem if the issue is in the way you use the service. If there is a problem on your ISP's end, you should contact them and make them aware of it so that it can be resolved.
User avatar
Omnitheo
Board Meister
 
Posts: 512
Likes: 32 posts
Liked in: 31 posts
Joined: Jul 19th, 2011, 10:10 am
Location: Chulak

Re: Telus internet in Shannon Lake area?

Postby ride365 » Feb 14th, 2013, 9:48 am

My friend has Telus internet on Upper Sundance. He has great speed and a stable connection. Netflix, online gaming and multiple users don't seem to have any slowdowns. Internet speed isn't so much the provider (as most offer similar packages) its more the distance from you and the closest node in your neighborhood. The extra 100m may make all the difference in the world between a good stable connection and constant issues. Shaw and Telus both are ok its more the TV packages you are interested in and if you're willing to commit to a contract or not. I would wait until there is promotional pricing offered before you make any changes.
ride365
 
Posts: 75
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Aug 13th, 2007, 8:30 am

Re: Telus internet in Shannon Lake area?

Postby zerograv » Feb 14th, 2013, 11:37 am

I'm on shannon lake rd and the node is about 50 feet from my house. its blazing fast!
zerograv
Board Meister
 
Posts: 489
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Mar 5th, 2009, 9:49 pm

Re: Telus internet in Shannon Lake area?

Postby Fleshfailures » Feb 14th, 2013, 8:46 pm

We use Shaw for wireless and find that we can't do things like have someone playing xbox online while someone else browses the internet without a ton of lag. We called Shaw a few times about it, and they suggested we upgrade the internet speed. That didn't work, so they suggested we get a new modem. That also didn't work, so they told us that there are just a lot of people in the area that use them as a provider and that there may be an upgrade to the area in the next 6 months to accomodate this, but they don't know when. We wanted to hear from other people if they experience the same thing with Telus or not to see if switching would be a good option.
User avatar
Fleshfailures
Board Meister
 
Posts: 423
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Oct 8th, 2005, 9:48 pm
Location: Westside

Re: Telus internet in Shannon Lake area?

Postby Tradesman » Feb 15th, 2013, 9:02 am

telus is by far better than shaw google cable throttling and traffic shaping list of isps.
I have ran both telus and shaw at the same time and put them thru a series of tests. not just speedtest.net but other downloads and multiple wireless devices at the same time

Playing games and downloading with shaws 20mb per sec dld and .4mb upload speed is painful especially at peak times.

telus 15mb pe sec dld and 1 mb p sec upload is way better
:)
User avatar
Tradesman
Fledgling
 
Posts: 162
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Aug 23rd, 2005, 2:14 pm

Re: Telus internet in Shannon Lake area?

Postby noremac » Feb 15th, 2013, 12:19 pm

After several, shall we say "tense" , conversations with Shaw, they eventually admitted that the current bandwidth alloted for some areas of Shannon Lake are being maxed out at peak times. This is rather annoying when trying to watch online movies and/or playing online games.
Telus gives each home a dedicated 15mbps line that is not shared by anyone else and shouldn't be susceptible to the issues Shaw has with thier "shared bandwidth". No upgrades are scheduled for Shannon Lake area for at least 6 months, according to the Shaw Technical Service Dept.
If you're gaming and watching Netflix with other computers watching videos or working online, I think Telus should get a hard look. I know I'll be calling to ask more questions and probably switching to Telus.
noremac
 
Posts: 7
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Aug 23rd, 2005, 9:59 pm

Re: Telus internet in Shannon Lake area?

Postby red stripe » Feb 16th, 2013, 1:24 pm

have to tell this story,shaw was very slow,cleaned out everything,fragged etc.,speed test was very very slow,upgraded,did not help,even after upgrade speed test was bad,shaw tecks came to my home to check PC,granted I live between two schools,[shaws excuse]after testing my PC they came to the conclusion that the wireing in Shannon lake had been RED FLAGGED because its so old it cannot handle high sped internet,so after three months after upgrade and after they had been takeing my money for the upgrade which there system could not provide in the first place,I got my money back and changed to telus,very fast,great service,so you know I live on Shannon Ridge Drive.
red stripe
 
Posts: 2
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Feb 16th, 2013, 1:09 pm

Re: Telus internet in Shannon Lake area?

Postby southernfrau » Feb 16th, 2013, 4:00 pm

I am not in Shannon Lake area but in Peachland. We had Shaw and it was horrible. It would go down for a couple of days and they wouldn't reimburse on our bill. I have the ADSL with Telus and I run two computers off it, our TV also with Netflix and the game boxes and a home office with a fax. No problems running more than one thing at a time. I had a faulty TV remote and I called them, replaced it in two days by sending it to me by courier with a prepaid box for the other one. Had our dish go out with some winds, they came the next day and realigned it and showed me how to do it myself if it should happen again.

Right now if you get the Optic TV you get a free TV and you can bundle in your house phone and internet for a low cost.
We have the Satellite here, with the HP and Internet. Less than 200 a month for it all and the TV has all and I mean all the stations. There isn't a station we don't have. Very pleased with Telus and the service is good.
Go with Telus....I'd never go back to Shaw...or any other provider if Telus was available.
User avatar
southernfrau
Fledgling
 
Posts: 295
Likes: 143 posts
Liked in: 27 posts
Joined: Mar 7th, 2010, 10:33 pm

Re: Telus internet in Shannon Lake area?

Postby southernfrau » Feb 16th, 2013, 4:03 pm

Oh and one of my computers is wireless. Awesome speed and downloads.
User avatar
southernfrau
Fledgling
 
Posts: 295
Likes: 143 posts
Liked in: 27 posts
Joined: Mar 7th, 2010, 10:33 pm

Re: Telus internet in Shannon Lake area?

Postby Fleshfailures » Feb 16th, 2013, 8:25 pm

Thanks to everyone for all the information, it's been very helpful! We will probably wind up switching soon.
User avatar
Fleshfailures
Board Meister
 
Posts: 423
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Oct 8th, 2005, 9:48 pm
Location: Westside

Re: Telus internet in Shannon Lake area?

Postby TimmyE » Feb 19th, 2013, 10:03 am

I have Telus internet at work and Shaw at home. I find that the Telus webmail goes offline too much as far as I am concerned. "Unavailable for use. Try later." My Telus was just down for 24 hours. I can't operate a business that way. Not to say Shaw is much better, because I find it goes down quite a bit between 5:00 and 7:00 in the morning. But in the daytime, pretty good. So good luck, you might be going from the frying pan into the fire, but no matter what you choose, you're going to have problems.
TimmyE
Board Meister
 
Posts: 368
Likes: 6 posts
Liked in: 11 posts
Joined: Jun 14th, 2008, 4:41 pm

Re: Telus internet in Shannon Lake area?

Postby NRodgers » Feb 19th, 2013, 10:40 am

Deleted by Trip/email, phone # removed.
NRodgers
 
Posts: 2
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sep 20th, 2009, 3:37 pm

Re: Telus internet in Shannon Lake area?

Postby Bsuds » Feb 19th, 2013, 10:54 am

TimmyE wrote:I have Telus internet at work and Shaw at home. I find that the Telus webmail goes offline too much as far as I am concerned. "Unavailable for use. Try later." My Telus was just down for 24 hours. I can't operate a business that way. Not to say Shaw is much better, because I find it goes down quite a bit between 5:00 and 7:00 in the morning. But in the daytime, pretty good. So good luck, you might be going from the frying pan into the fire, but no matter what you choose, you're going to have problems.


I have talked with Telus a couple of times re their e-mail being flaky. I am told it is overloaded and they are working at upgrading. I have solved this by forwarding all e-mail to another provider. Won't wait for them to fix it and forwarding works for me.
I wonder if the clouds ever look down on us and say "Hey look, that one is shaped like an idiot!"
User avatar
Bsuds
The Wagon Master
 
Posts: 30552
Likes: 1076 posts
Liked in: 1600 posts
Joined: Apr 21st, 2005, 10:46 am
Location: Ork

Re: Telus internet in Shannon Lake area?

Postby NRodgers » Feb 19th, 2013, 12:46 pm

So, can't post contact info on the forum I guess. Maybe, PM me if you'd like my help with the ins and outs of TELUS service? I'm a dealer and would be happy to answer questions.
NRodgers
 
Posts: 2
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sep 20th, 2009, 3:37 pm

Next

Return to West Kelowna

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests