Problems growing honeyberries

Home/car maintenance, renos, gardening, DIY, farming, creative endeavours.
Kalvin K
Fledgling

Problems growing honeyberries

Post by Kalvin K »

Planted 3 honeyberry plants 3 years ago along with 3 blueberry plants.
http://www.albertahomegardening.com/int ... eyberries/

Honeyberry plants are relatively new to the scene. Wasn't until the University of Saskatchewan developed that Hakusp variant that they've become popular. I have no experience growing them.

Anyway, the plants have grown quite large and look very healthy. The bushes are now almost 6' high and 4' in diameter. BUT, I get almost no fruit out of them. The berries that do grow seem small and unhappy. I don't understand why. I did the research and bought 2 different varieties for proper pollination. No sprays are applied (organic), they're in a raised bed with good drainage.

By contrast, the 3 blueberry plants that are growing right beside the honeyberry plants (in the same raised bed) are much smaller and are growing a lot less vigorously (about 1/3rd the size of the honeyberry plants). But they're producing fruit quite nicely and if anything produce a lot more fruit than I'd expect based on the size of the plants.

Any ideas for why I'm not getting any fruit out of the honeyberry plants? I'm ready to rip them out and plant more blueberries in their place.
Lady tehMa
A Peer of the Realm

Re: Problems growing honeyberries

Post by Lady tehMa »