Wifi router 802.11ax

Computer questions/solutions, technology news, science topics.
Jlabute
Guru

Wifi router 802.11ax

Post by Jlabute »

Time to upgrade. My old router is about 8 years old and needs rebooting more often. No more updates for it. Perhaps it is time to try out a new Wifi 6 router with support for the latest. I am thinking of the Asus ax92. I’d prefer not to mesh as everything works alright now with a router in a central location. Anyone highly recommend anything?
Last edited by Jlabute on Feb 3rd, 2020, 10:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Lord Kelvin - When you can measure what you are speaking about, and express it in numbers, you know something about it.
vegas1500
Grand Pooh-bah

Re: Wifi router 802.11ax

Post by vegas1500 »

CB7C57AA-2BF5-45C4-A1CF-19FA3520FF8E.jpeg

Im no expert but I had to purchase this one to get proper coverage/distribution in my house. The range is insane and the the speed actually went up over 100MBPS over what I pay for.
kelownman
Generalissimo Postalot

Post by kelownman »

I have read rave reviews of the TP Link Archer AX11000. These AX11000 all appear to be similarly priced.

Capture.JPG
Jlabute
Guru

Post by Jlabute »

That’s the Linksys EA9500 AC5400. Looks like it has good reviews, around the $450 mark or so. Looks like a good performer. 1.4ghz dual-core. I kind of had my heart set on ax... but, this puppy could be an option. Interestingly, I don’t see any ax stuff on the linksys site.

Giving the Asus RT-ax88 some consideration too. The RT92U is about $269.99 at Bestbuy.
https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B07KX6FF8J?tag=georiot-ca-default-20&th=1&psc=1&ascsubtag=tomsguide-1419444313835950260-20

^^^ The TP link is a beast for sure. $550. Kinda up there. Not sure if I wanna spend that much. Hmmm.
Lord Kelvin - When you can measure what you are speaking about, and express it in numbers, you know something about it.
JagXKR
Lord of the Board

Post by JagXKR »