NAS Setup

Computer questions/solutions, technology news, science topics.
User avatar
Bsuds
The Wagon Master
Posts: 54809
Joined: Apr 21st, 2005, 10:46 am

NAS Setup

Post by Bsuds »

OK all you experts.

I picked up a used Thecus 5 bay NAS. I can see it from the ip address but on my Win 10-11 computers it won't show up in the network. So I have no way to access the files/folders.

I have a 1tb hdd installed in it with a couple of empty folders.

I have updated the firmware and reset it to factory settings but that didn't help.

Any ideas?
One day you will find someone who is obsessed with you.
It will most likely be a Dog, but it is what it is.
User avatar
spooker
Guru
Posts: 7770
Joined: May 12th, 2009, 5:18 pm

Re: NAS Setup

Post by spooker »

What model did you get? The ones I saw on their site under the SOHO category just had a 2-bay and 4-bay ... did find the 5810 with 5 bays ... what version of their OS did your update pull in?
--
“The world breaks everyone, and afterward, many are strong at the broken places.”
― Ernest Hemingway
User avatar
OKkayak
Walks on Forum Water
Posts: 14241
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 11:10 pm

Re: NAS Setup

Post by OKkayak »

Good Lord, I don't even know what a NAS is [icon_lol2.gif]
kelownman
Generalissimo Postalot
Posts: 836
Joined: Feb 11th, 2016, 11:24 am

Re: NAS Setup

Post by kelownman »

this gives instructions for the 5200 model. sounds like you need a setup exe file or CD. did you get that exe file?

https://www.thecus.com/download/manual/ ... _V10_B.pdf

or https://www.thecus.com/product?cat=linu ... uage_num=1

on that page click on utility, and download the setup file.

I have no idea how to use a nas though... :biggrin: I just used google....
User avatar
Bsuds
The Wagon Master
Posts: 54809
Joined: Apr 21st, 2005, 10:46 am

Re: NAS Setup

Post by Bsuds »

spooker wrote: Nov 14th, 2021, 3:37 pm What model did you get? The ones I saw on their site under the SOHO category just had a 2-bay and 4-bay ... did find the 5810 with 5 bays ... what version of their OS did your update pull in?
It's the N5550. Not sure which firmware version but it was their latest for this model from 2018 I believe.
One day you will find someone who is obsessed with you.
It will most likely be a Dog, but it is what it is.
kelownman
Generalissimo Postalot
Posts: 836
Joined: Feb 11th, 2016, 11:24 am

Re: NAS Setup

Post by kelownman »

https://www.thecus.com/Download-Center

scroll down about half way down the page and click on N5550, "see the details"
click on "UTILITY" and download tghe setup wizard for windows.

unless you have the setup wizard, then nevermind... :D
kelownman
Generalissimo Postalot
Posts: 836
Joined: Feb 11th, 2016, 11:24 am

Re: NAS Setup

Post by kelownman »

https://www.thecus.com/download/manual/ ... 160314.pdf

the manual to how to set up... pdf file page 51
User avatar
Bsuds
The Wagon Master
Posts: 54809
Joined: Apr 21st, 2005, 10:46 am

Re: NAS Setup

Post by Bsuds »

kelownman wrote: Nov 14th, 2021, 4:15 pm https://www.thecus.com/Download-Center

scroll down about half way down the page and click on N5550, "see the details"
click on "UTILITY" and download tghe setup wizard for windows.

unless you have the setup wizard, then nevermind... :D
Thanks, that did help. I found that i need to install that utility on all my computers for them to see the NAS. But at this point they have to be hard wired. I still can't see it over WiFi. So a bit more research for that.

So I am making headway. :up:
One day you will find someone who is obsessed with you.
It will most likely be a Dog, but it is what it is.
User avatar
Bsuds
The Wagon Master
Posts: 54809
Joined: Apr 21st, 2005, 10:46 am

Re: NAS Setup

Post by Bsuds »

It was the Firewall.

Funny thing is I turned it off and the NAS showed up. I then turned it back on and it was still showing.

So I am happy and Mrs S will be too because now she can save all her Cricut files and access from both her Laptop and her desktop where she does all her crafty stuff from. :biggrin:
One day you will find someone who is obsessed with you.
It will most likely be a Dog, but it is what it is.
User avatar
spooker
Guru
Posts: 7770
Joined: May 12th, 2009, 5:18 pm

Re: NAS Setup

Post by spooker »

Bsuds wrote: Nov 14th, 2021, 5:24 pm It was the Firewall.

Funny thing is I turned it off and the NAS showed up. I then turned it back on and it was still showing.

So I am happy and Mrs S will be too because now she can save all her Cricut files and access from both her Laptop and her desktop where she does all her crafty stuff from. :biggrin:
Good deal ... while the cloud is a good solution for storage in one regard having that home storage is crucial for others as you point out ...
--
“The world breaks everyone, and afterward, many are strong at the broken places.”
― Ernest Hemingway
User avatar
Urban Cowboy
Guru
Posts: 9379
Joined: Apr 27th, 2013, 3:47 pm

Re: NAS Setup

Post by Urban Cowboy »

OKkayak wrote: Nov 14th, 2021, 3:47 pm Good Lord, I don't even know what a NAS is [icon_lol2.gif]
Network Attached Storage. Your own Western Digital Cloud for example.
“Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost" - Tolkien

Return to “Computers, Science, Technology”