Peter McFadden's Speech from Oct. 26 Forum

pmcfadden

Peter McFadden's Speech from Oct. 26 Forum

Post by pmcfadden »

For those who were unable to attend last nights All Candidate Forum (Oct. 26), here is a copy of my speech.

My name is Peter McFadden and I am running for City Council. I am a chartered accountant with 30 years of experience. I have designations in tax and business valuations and a Masters degree in finance. My practice takes care of small to mid size business and many not for profit entities. I see both sides of the equation in my practice. I want to bring the knowledge and expertise I have acquired over 30 years to City Hall.

I am not going to stand up here and promise more police officers on the road, or more bus routes, or less traffic congestion on lakeshore. It is not a reality at this time. We would have to go into debt or increase property taxes substantially to achieve all this. I know that citizens do not want this right now.

What I can promise is that I will be your numbers guy. I will take a hard look at the budgets and where the money goes. I will be the guy on the team that says “this is what we have to spend so how do we split it up equitably among all the various priorities that we face”. The next few years will be crucial because we can’t keep asking our existing taxpayers to keep paying increased taxes. We will have to watch our pennies and being Scottish and an accountant I am your man.