Help * Portable Kenmore air conditioner glitch

Home/car maintenance, renos, gardening, DIY, farming, creative endeavours.
ok-kel
Newbie
Posts: 74
Joined: Jun 21st, 2009, 9:55 am

Help * Portable Kenmore air conditioner glitch

Post by ok-kel »

Hello. Not much of a handyman...We have an older Kenmore portable air conditioner. It was running fine. Then the wife decided that she would put some cheesecloth over the vent (the machine itself....taped past the edges of the vent...so should have been ok.....)
Anyways, the machine worked fine for 1.5 days and then stopped. It shows a message on the screen that flashes. It looks like a FE....without the top vertical line on the E....
We really need it to work, as it is our only air conditioner.
Does anyone have any ideas? It is an old model. Thank you soooo much !!!
I can always email a pic of the flashing signal, but my description is good.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
LANDM
Walks on Forum Water
Posts: 11596
Joined: Sep 18th, 2009, 11:58 am

Re: Help * Portable Kenmore air conditioner glitch

Post by LANDM »

What do you mean by putting cheesecloth over the vent? You mean either the intake or exhaust was blocked on purpose? If so, then there isn't much mystery as to why it died.
You and 71 others Like this post
User avatar
oneh2obabe
feistres Goruchaf y Bwrdd
Posts: 91072
Joined: Nov 23rd, 2007, 8:19 am

Re: Help * Portable Kenmore air conditioner glitch

Post by oneh2obabe »

^^^What he said. If you want to cut down on dust, pollen, etc. being blown into the house cheesecloth is placed over the floor vents if you don't want to purchase the air filters for same.
Dance as if no one's watching, sing as if no one's listening, and live everyday as if it were your last.

Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass. It's about learning to dance in the rain.
ok-kel
Newbie
Posts: 74
Joined: Jun 21st, 2009, 9:55 am

Re: Help * Portable Kenmore air conditioner glitch

Post by ok-kel »

It is cheesecloth, so it breathes....it is mesh....
I taped the edges onto the machine, not the vent itself.
Only the cheesecloth is covering the OUTtake vent.
Construction work on our road is venting in a LOT of dust over time.
Any ideas on what to do? Older model....
Ub2
Generalissimo Postalot
Posts: 774
Joined: Mar 22nd, 2009, 8:11 pm

Re: Help * Portable Kenmore air conditioner glitch

Post by Ub2 »

http://www.manualslib.com/manual/1066052/Kenmore-35712.html?page=8#manual

Although this manual is for a 12,000 btu, the code will be the same for yours.

That error code is for a full tank from the dehumidifier within the air conditioner.
TylerM4
Lord of the Board
Posts: 3641
Joined: Feb 27th, 2014, 3:22 pm

Re: Help * Portable Kenmore air conditioner glitch

Post by TylerM4 »

unbiased2 wrote:http://www.manualslib.com/manual/1066052/Kenmore-35712.html?page=8#manual

Although this manual is for a 12,000 btu, the code will be the same for yours.

That error code is for a full tank from the dehumidifier within the air conditioner.


Lol. The "fix" is to empty the tank.
ok-kel
Newbie
Posts: 74
Joined: Jun 21st, 2009, 9:55 am

Re: Help * Portable Kenmore air conditioner glitch

Post by ok-kel »

Update: Hubby got home from being away for work...plugged it in....and it just started again..... :130: didn't empty anything....but thanks so so so much
User avatar
Bsuds
The Wagon Master
Posts: 51605
Joined: Apr 21st, 2005, 10:46 am

Re: Help * Portable Kenmore air conditioner glitch

Post by Bsuds »

ok-kel wrote:Update: Hubby got home from being away for work...plugged it in....and it just started again..... :130: didn't empty anything....but thanks so so so much


Probably because the tray evaporated some of the moisture during the day. "If" that's the case it will happen again.
When it does check the tray.
I might look normal but believe me, I talk to animals and wait for them to reply.

Return to “Creative Endeavours”