What is this? - Help please

A potpourri of off-topics.
Olivia
Fledgling

What is this? - Help please

Post by Olivia »

Can anyone tell me more about this item? We think it's a coffee maker of some sort?
How old do you think it is and what it might be worth?
Copper and aluminum
7.5" in height/10" in diameter
Made in Portugal

Thanks for your help! :smt023

~ An act of kindness will put a smile in your heart, and your kisser!~
Bubalouie
Guru

Post by Bubalouie »

Very interesting looking piece. I would guess coffee maker myself but I'm not an expert.
ferri
Forum Administrator

Post by ferri »

yes! it's a drip coffee maker!
“Weak people revenge. Strong people forgive. Intelligent people ignore.”
― Albert Einstein
gardengirl
Walks on Forum Water

Post by gardengirl »

kind of similar to espresso pot.
Life is a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death.
onestop67
Guru

Post by onestop67 »

The taller piece looks like it is missing something that screws onto the top. I'm guessing a clear, hollow part that shows the coffee percolating.

A percolator consists of a pot with a small chamber at the bottom, which is placed closest to the heat source. A vertical tube leads from this chamber to the top of the percolator. Just below the upper end of this tube is a perforated chamber.

The percolator is prepared for use by placing the desired quantity of water in the pot, and a corresponding amount of a fairly coarse grind of coffee in the top chamber. It is important that the water level be below the bottom of the coffee chamber.